2017: 62nd Newcastle & Hunter Combined Schools ANZAC Commemorative Event

Clarence Jeffries

Bravery and Battles in Belgium - The Great War

The Australian Imperial Force (AIF) in Belgium on the Western Front during the Great War, including:
  • The 1917 Battle at Passchendaele where Wallsend-born soldier Captain Clarence Smith Jeffries was awarded Australia's highest military honour, a Victoria Cross, for valour.

  • The plight of the citizens of Belgium whose country had been turned into a battlefield between 1914 and 1918.

Order of Commemorative Event - Singleton Performance

Lambton High School Drama

Performing throughout programme Director - Anne Grivas

Introduction and Welcome

Student Committee
Mayor of Singleton - Councillor Sue Moore

Saluting Their Service

saluting their service here

The Great War - Australian Bravery and Battles in Belgium

Narrators: Paige Peterson, Claudia Akhurst, Laura Kuras, Jasmine Sullivan, Annabelle Cleary, Reaya Pham, Jackson West, Michael Leggett
Drama: Year 9,10 Accelerated and 11 Drama - Lambton High School
String Ensemble: Newcastle Grammar
School - Director Kevin Young

Spider's Web by Katie Melua
Vocalists: Amy Mason, Annabelle Cleary, Laura Kuras
Guitar: Michael Leggett

Remembrance Service

Introduction - John King Secretary
Hunter Valley District Council of RSL Sub-Branches

Mounting of the Catafalque Party

Service and Adventure and Training Unit - Newcastle Grammar School
Guard Commander - Sergeant Emily Conlon

Laying of Tributes and Piping the Lament

Alan Suttner - The City of Newcastle RSL Pipe Band

Ode of Remembrance

Lucie Merrick and Miller Damstra - Singleton Public School

The Last Post

Bugler: Niamh Lewis - Newcastle Grammar School

One Minute's Silence


Bugler: Niamh Lewis - Newcastle Grammar School

Australian National Anthem

Advance Australia Fair
St Catherine's Catholic College Singleton Years 3 - 6 Choir
Vocal Director - Kate Flannery

Closing Address

Felicity Laczina
Head of People and Development
Newcastle Permanent Building Society

Lest We Forget

Student Committee

Paige Peterson - Newcastle Grammar School
Claudia Akhurst - Newcastle Grammar School
Laura Kuras - St Francis Xavier's College
Jasmine Sullivan - St Francis Xavier's College
Annabelle Cleary - Merewether High School
Reaya Pham - Merewether High School
Jackson West - Callaghan College Jesmond Campus
Michael Leggett - Callaghan College Jesmond Campus
Maya Borthwick - St Philip's Christian College
Robert Carter - St Philip's Christian College

Sponsors and Supporters

Newcastle Permanent Building Society
Glencore Mount Owen Complex - Ravensworth
Singleton Council
Newcastle Grammar School
St Philip's Christian College Newcastle
Bentleys Newcastle
Shaw Gidley Insolvency and Reconstruction
Hunter Valley District Council of RSL Sub-Branches
Merewether-HamiIton RSL Sub-Branch
Department of Veterans' Affairs
Callaghan College Jesmond Campus
Merewether High School
Lambton High School
Neon Zoo


Michelle Gosper - Artistic Director
Di McArtney (President)
Jenni Gill (Administration)
Michael Voorbij (Secretary) Callaghan College Jesmond Campus
Phil Winney (Treasurer) - Merewether-Hamilton-Adamstown RSL Sub-branch
Richard McArtney (Hon. Accountant)
Emilia Cardillo (Hon. Solicitor)
Joy Kingsford
Royce Atkinson
Steven Gibb - Merewether High School
Kim Scully - St Francis Xavier's College
Angela Colbert, Duncan McKensey — Newcastle Grammar School
Graeme Evans - St Philip's Christian College — Newcastle
Anne Grivas - Lambton High School
Michael Creevey - Shamrock Video
Elizabeth Blyth - Musical Director



Special Thanks

special thanks