2015 60th Annual Newcastle Combined Schools ANZAC Service

Blanche Cresswick

Australian Army Nursing Sister Blanche Cresswick from Mayfield. Photo courtesy Newcastle Museum.

“They Served” – WWI Australian Army Nurses from the Hunter.

Selected experiences of Newcastle and the Hunter Army nurses service during WWI in the hospitals and casualty clearing stations that were hastily erected to support the wounded and sick soldiers.


Based on “Sisters of the Valley – First World War Nurses from Newcastle and the Valley” by Christine Bramble.

Wednesday 22 April, 2015 at 10am

Civic Theatre, Wheeler Place, Newcastle


Order of Commemorative Event

Introduction and Welcome

Chelsea Gilbert

Saluting Their Service

Jarod Clarkson "They served" WWI Australian Army Nurses from the Hunter

The experiences of Australian Army Nurses who served in hospitals and casualty clearing stations during WWI.

Narrators: Cooper Stace, Beatrice Wardhaugh, Josiebel Cardona, Sandra Callahan, Toby Noon, Curtis Aitken

Performance by Year 11 Drama and Year 9 and 10 Accelerated Drama from Lambton High School. Director: Anne Grivas

"Our Sister..." Words by R. Marshall of the Black Watch.
Musical Arrangement: Elizabeth Blyth

Saluting the Service of Australian Army Nurses from Newcastle and the Valley

Curtis Aitken, Chelsea Gilbert, Toby Noon

Remembrance Service

Beatrice Wardhaugh, Jarod Clarkson, Cooper Stace, Chelsea Gilbert

Mounting of Catafalque Party

Service and Adventure Training Unit - Newcastle Grammar School
Guard Commander - Cadet Corporal Jacob Reid

Laying of Tributes and Piping the Lament

Bagpiper: Peter Campbell
City of Newcastle RSL Pipe Band

Ode of Remembrance

Matthew Arnold
Megan Rewitt
Hamilton South Public School

The Last Post

Buglar: Julius Roberts, Newcastle Grammar School

One Minute's Silence


Buglar: Julius Roberts, Newcastle Grammar School

New Zealand National Anthem

"God Defend New Zealand"
Lyrics: Thomas Bracken
Music: John Joseph Woods
St Francis Xavier Choir
Conductor: Luke Baker

Australian National Anthem

"Advance Australia Fair"
Words and Music: Peter Dodds McCormick
Soloist: Harrison Crook with selected Hunter Wind Ensemble members
Arrangement:Elizabeth Blyth
Coordinator: Charissa Fergusson


Mr Andrew Yost - Acting Chief Executive Officer, Newcastle Permanent Building Society
Mr Phil Winney - President, Merewether-Hamilton RSL Sub-branch
Councillor Nuatalia Nelmes - Lord Mayor of Newcastle


Sandra Callahan

Lest We Forget

Student Committee

Sandra Callahan, Callaghan College Jesmond Campus
Cooper Stace, Callaghan College Jesmond Campus
Curtis Aitken, Merewether High School
Josiebel Cardona, Merewether High School
Beatrice Wardhaugh, Newcastle Grammar School
Toby Noon, Newcastle Grammar School
Jarod Clarkson, St Francis Xavier's College
Chelsea Gilbert, St Francis Xavier's College

Lambton High Drama Classes Students

Tyler Chapman
Riley King
Rachael Lee
Tiegan Mannweiler
Isaac McKinnon
Kirra O'Neill
Aneesha Sadien
Kallie Sams-James
Thomas Wilton
Beatrice Fraser

Molly Jordan
Oliver MacFadyen
Siobhan Pickard
Lisa Rondbjerg
Courtney Urdarov
Rachel Barr
Sophie Carson
Jenna Hall
Alex Long
Annaliese Stojkovski

Saint Francis Xavier Choir

Tova Agresti, Gabrielle Mills, Chotika Boonon (Sky), Jaimi Bubb, Ivania Collucio, Chelsea Scully, Jack Wade, Jacob Burgess, Lauren Walker, Matilda Hayward, Georgia Thompson, Harrison Gresham, Kristy Doan, Aiyana Ough

Hunter Wind Ensemble

Andrea Barnes, Alexandra Elseworthy, Tessie Overmyer, Teleah Riordan, Shanell Van Koeverden

Sponsors and Supporters

Corporate Sponsor - Newcastle Permanent Building Society

The City of Newcastle

Underwriter - Merewether-Hamilton RSL Sub Branch

Special Thanks

Mrs Christine Bramble - author of "Sisters of the Valley - First World War Nurses from Newcastle and the Valley"


Director: Michelle Gosper

Di McArtney, James Mackay OAM, Jenni Gill
Michael Voorbij - Callaghan College Jesmond Campus
Steven Gibb, Kim Sutherland - Merewether High School
Duncan McKensey — Newcastle Grammar School
Anne Grivas - Lambton High School
Phil Winney (Treasurer) - Merewether-Hamilton RSL Sub Branch
Joy Kingsford - Callaghan College
Elizabeth Blyth, Charissa Ferguson
Anne Young, Shortland RSL Sub Branch


Merewether-Hamilton RSL Sub Branch
Department of Veterans' Affairs
Catholic Schools Office Diocese of Maitland-Newcastle
Newcastle Independent Schools
The City of Newcastle
Royal Australian Navy
8th Battalion Combat EngineerRegiment
Bullecourt Barracks Adamstown
3 Squadron, RAAF Williamtown
Crest Newcastle
Newcastle Maritime Museum
Newcastle District Council of RSL Sub-branches
Shortland RSL Sub-branch
Shortland RSL Sub-branch Women's Auxiliary
Shortland Probus Club
United Services Union - Newcastle Branch
Australian Families of the Military Research and Support Foundation (AFOM)
Working Planet Design Web Graphic and Multimedia
Merrillee Chignell, Department of Veterans' Affairs